Pakistan Announce 16-Member Squad For Australia Test Series


Pakistan Cricket Board has listed a 16-member squad for the three-match Test series against Australia.

Pakistan have recalled Shan Masood, who played his last Test against New Zealand in January 2021. Pace bowler Haris Rauf, who has played eight ODIs and 34 T20I matches for Pakistan, has been included in the squad.

Haris Rauf likely to make his Test debut  for Pakistan against Australia

Rauf was earlier part of Pakistan’s Test squad against South Africa and Zimbabwe but never made his debut in the red-ball format.

Haris Rauf Credits: Twitter.

Meanwhile, Masood is a replacement for Pakistan opener Abid Ali, who was diagnosed with a heart condition in December 2021 and is currently under rehabilitation.

These are the best available, most talented and in-form players: Muhammad Wasim

Off-spinner Bilal Asif, who was part of the squad for the Bangladesh Test series, has been dropped. Pakistan named five reserve players: Yasir Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah and Kamran Ghulam for the Test series against the Australians.

Yasir Shah, Test Cricket
Yasir Shah (Image Credit: Twitter)

According to a PCB release, the players named in the Test squad who are not involved in the ongoing season of PSL will assemble in National Stadium in Karachi on February 16 for a training camp.

We have opted for consistency for the important home series against Australia and changes have only been made where absolutely necessary,” Pakistan chief selector Muhammad Wasim said.

“This is to give the boys confidence, reward them for their impressive performances in the longer version of the game in 2021 and continue to build the side for the future.

“These are the best available, most talented and in-form players in the domestic circuit. I am confident they will put up an impressive performance against a formidable Australia side,” he further mentioned.

Pakistan will take on the Australian cricket team, who will visit their country after 24 years, in the first of the three Tests in Rawalpindi on March 4.

Pakistan Test squad against Australia: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Zahid Mahmood

Reserved players: Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah.

Also Read: Usman Khawaja Set To Miss The Birth Of His Second Child After Being Included In Australian Squad For Pakistan Tour

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :